What We Do

The Center for Neuropathology is equipped to provide diagnostic services, including the interpretation of autopsy brain, eye, muscle, and nerve specimens, either as the primary interpretation or as a second opinion. We also provide second opinion for diagnostic interpretation of brain biopsies, muscle biopsies, and nerve specimens. We have ongoing research projects that address multiple questions in neuroscience, and maintain a brain tissue repository of numerous disease states, as well as controls. Additionally, the Center works in concert with the Research Histology Laboratory.

For more information, or to arrange for a neuropathological interpretation of a brain or tissue specimen, contact us at 269.337.6173 or neuropathology@med.wmich.edu.

" "

STAFF 

Rudolph J. Castellani, MD, Director, Center for Neuropathology and Research Histology Laboratory
Rudolph J. Castellani, MD 
Director, Center for Neuropathology and Research Histology Laboratory
Professor, Department of Pathology
rudolph.castellani@med.wmich.edu
" "
Amanda Fisher-Hubbard, MD
Assistant Professor for Anatomic Pathology
Co-Director, Center for Neuropathology
amanda.fisher-hubbard@med.wmich.edu
" "
Joyce deJong, DO
Professor and Chair, Department of Pathology
joyce.dejong@med.wich.edu
" "
Abigail Grande, MPH
Quality & Accreditation Analyst
abigail.grande@med.wmich.edu
" "
Kristi Bailey, HTL
Lead Histotechnologist
kristi.bailey@med.wmich.edu
Jon Langworthy, Histotechnologist
Jon Langworthy
Histotechnologist
jonathan.langworthy@med.wmich.edu
" "
Jo Catania
Chief Investigator
joanne.catania@med.wmich.edu
Chelsea BagleyChelsea Bagley
Neuropathology Research Assistant
chelsea.bagley@med.wmich.edu
Ashley Shade
Ashley Shade
Investigator/Neuropathology Assistant
ashley.shade@med.wmich.edu